Immunization Champions

Immunization champions go above and beyond to promote the importance of immunizations in their communities. Our Immunization Action Coalition of Washington, the Washington State Department of Health, the Association of Immunization Managers and CDC recognize these individuals and their impact through the IACW Advocate, IACW Collaborator and Childhood Immunization Champion awards.

IACW Champion Award Winner

The Immunization Action Coalition of Washington (IACW) Awards recognize people and groups who raise public awareness of how important immunizations and work to keep Washingtonians immunized across the lifespan. This is the work of saving lives and keeping our communities healthy.



Read more about our 2020 IACW Immunization Champion Award Winners





The CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award: Washington State Winners

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Childhood Immunization Champion Award is an annual award that recognizes individuals who make a significant contribution toward improving public health through their work in childhood immunization. Each year, a CDC Immunization Champion is selected from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia.

In 2022, the CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award will be given jointly by the Association of Immunization Managers (AIM) and CDC.

2023: Mehr Grewal

2022: Ahmed Ali, PharmD

2019: Alexander Hamling, MD 

2018: John Merrill-Steskal, MD

2017: Elias Kass, ND

2016: John Dunn, MD

2015: Kathy Hennessey

2014: Janet Kauzlarich, RN

2013: Edgar Marcuse, MD

2012: Wendy Sue Swanson, MD


Did you know?


Learn more
Super Family
Washington Guy

Immunity Community Monthly Newsletter